Closet anime fans?

Discussion in 'Movies/TV' started by avvie, Feb 15, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. avvie

avvie It's another cold day in Hell Tip Jar Donor

I'm pretty new to the anime format but I gotta say that they have some great storytelling in them....or maybe it just seems that way because I sheltered myself from television for many many years due to 70's and 80's content. Dunno. Glad we have streaming content these days..viva variety!
    Bored one day and liked the description so the first one I tried was 'The Devil Is A Part Timer'. Great comedy that opens with standard good-vs-evil magic battle in mythical lands resulting in Satan retreating to modern day Tokyo and working at McDonald's. Fun stuff.
    Checked a couple of others out...found I just do not care in any way for medievil warrior/samarai stuff....then I found 'Black Butler' (English dub version). LOVE this one...note my avatar. Set in Victorian England and part comedy, part gothic horror. 12-year-old nobleman Ciel Phantomhive enters into a contract with a demon to help find and take revenge against those who killed his parents, burned down his estate and tortured him for weeks on end; in return the demon gets to consume his soul when the quest is done. Great story arc that straddles between adolescent comedy and 'polite society' drama, featuring some outlandish characters and gory violence.
    "Attack On Titan': you've probably heard of this one. I'm still in the first season so I'm not sure what to make of it but I do enjoy it. I will say that as the season progresses it becomes a becomes a series of moral dilemmas with lots of speeches and debate leading to very short action sequences to end the episode. It's still good though.