EoHalf and EoGame D

Discussion in 'Tennessee Titans and NFL Talk' started by GoT, Nov 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GoT

GoT Strength and Honor

really dissapointed in the Jimbelina like Ds CC employed at the End of the half and End of the Game- End of half especially. With 3:32 remaining in the half Titans had given up a FG and a penalty assisted TD drive and forced a TO and 2 punts. Basically stopping the 49ers on 4 straight posessions - yet in a tie ballgame CC, apparently it was CC I have no knowledge it would be anyone else, obviously was willing to concede the go ahead FG despite the Titans success at stopping SF in every drive except the opening FG. Utlimately Smith bought some time floating to his right and got an easy TD agianst the Titan Schwartz D - arrugh!

On the game closing drive, which forced a game deciding onsides kick, the Titan prevent D could not tackle anyone INBOUNDS and they gave up the edges. I always thought prevent Ds gave up the middle and tackled inbounds - Arrugh!!!!! possibly this retarded approach to the prevent D is why the Titans are so awful at it.

2. titansfan89

titansfan89 Starter

I was disappointed with the end of the game "play back so they have a tough time getting in the end zone" and "giving up first downs is ok as long as the clock rolls" strategies the most.

However, I think that the touchdown at the end of the half confused everyone. Personally, I was 100% sure Smith was just gonna run it out of bounds and save the 20 seconds on the clock and kick the go ahead field goal. You could tell Cort thought the same because he let Davis get behind him for the easy TD.

But yeah, our D needs to play 110% and not just let off the gas because we're up by a couple scores. If the onside kick goes their way, they have good field position, 40 seconds on the clock and a timeout.

3. Childress79

Childress79 Loungefly ®

It must really piss the players off too.