Welcome to goTitans.com! Log in or sign up to be a part of the best Tennessee Titans fan site available.

Question about an "illegal formation" call last Sunday?

Discussion in 'Tennessee Titans and NFL Talk' started by Bobo, Dec 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Watchers:
This thread is being watched by 1 user.
  1. Bobo Guest

    Messages:
    0
    6:33 left in the 3rd, TH runs for like 15 yards on a 3rd and 1 and we get the 1st down. But it was called back. They said #76 was lined up illegally as the "end man on the LOS".

    Stewart was in his usual RT spot, Hartsock was to his left on the line as a TE, and Cramer was to hsi left lined up off the LOS.

    Is there something illegal about that that I am missing?

    Drew looked like he may have been not on the line to give 7 men, but it was close and that wasn't what they called.
    #1
  2. Fry Hatin' is what I do.

    Casey
    Messages:
    24,545
    Moolah:
    $9,007
    i think it would have been legal if he(stewart) had checked in as an eligable receiver.
  3. bongo59 Camp Fodder

    Messages:
    1,191
    Moolah:
    $0
    it was a judgement call by the line judge that DB was off the line...............
  4. Bobo Guest

    Messages:
    0
    But he lined up in his normal RT spot, not in a TE spot.
  5. Fry Hatin' is what I do.

    Casey
    Messages:
    24,545
    Moolah:
    $9,007
    oh, i thought they went into some type of heavy formation since it was like 3rd and 1. dont remember the specific formation, just took a guess.
  6. Vigsted Starter

    Messages:
    4,220
    Moolah:
    $1,367
    Doesn't matter where he lines up, if he's the last man on LOS it's illegal if he's not declared as eligible. He needs either a TE or WR to also be on LOS (outside of him obviously) for it to be legal formation.
  7. Bobo Guest

    Messages:
    0
    Maybe I'm wrong, but I don't believe that is true.

    But as I already said, Stewart was not the end guy anyway.
  8. TNThunder Guest

    Messages:
    0

    The tackle either has to be eligible or covered.
  9. split_six Guest

    Messages:
    0
    True dat.

    Being at the game, I did find it strange that it was the referee (10 yards behind the los), not the line judge that threw the flag for the illegal formation.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page